About us


Everyday our enthusiasm for light is reflected in our projects and in the uniqueness of our company, with its lighting design, product development, research department and its own academy – the Bartenbach academy.

We love working with light and sharing our passion for light with others, and we would like to pass on our comprehensive knowledge of light. To use our own wealth of experience to promote an awareness of light and its effects on society is the real idea behind the Bartenbach academy.

In 2003, with the establishment of the Master of Light and Lighting degree (MLL), we launched a programme for the study of light and laid the foundation for comprehensive training in lighting design.

Since 2014 we have focused on tailor-made lighting seminars for our partners and customers. In the unique learning environment of the World of Light we offer a variety of events, such as basic and advanced seminars on the subject of light, daylighting workshops in the Artificial Sky, tours of the World of Light and space for experiments.

We also encourage young people who are interested in light:

Every year we organise a University Symposium. At this 2-day event students can gain insight into the World of Light, free of charge. We also promote Building with Daylighting as part of our academic courses.

Philosophy


“Light is the medium of vision and of the soul. It affects the rhythm of our lives, our mood and our productivity. Proper lighting in the workplace invigorates us. Darkness in public spaces makes people uneasy, whereas light creates a feeling of security. The interaction between light and shadows brings architecture to life. Light accentuates and shows us the way forward. I’ve been working with the fascinating phenomenon of light for over 40 years. It requires professionalism and passion, and combines the fundamentals of physics and technology with a knowledge of perceptual psychology and a passion and talent for design. All this comes together in the professional field of lighting design.”    

Professor Christian Bartenbach
 

Make living spaces more functional with light. Enable people to pursue work and leisure in an energetic and balanced way. Use light to promote the beauty of exhibits, products, buildings and squares.

Use light to provide orientation and protection. Flood shaded areas with sunlight while economically controlling the temperature. Lighting design focuses on people and their individual needs. At the Bartenbach academy, our goal is to understand the different ways light affects people in order to implement tailored natural and artificial lighting solutions.

Professor Christian Bartenbach established perception-oriented lighting design, which is now taught at the Bartenbach academy.

Learning about light


Within the framework of our courses, participants have an opportunity to get to know more about a variety of lighting topics.

These courses are currently on offer:

LIGHTING SEMINARS for architects
Individually designed lighting seminars at the Bartenbach academy teach both the technical and physical basics as well as design and aspects of perception psychology. Our aim is to create a deeper understanding of the design of lighting and spatial environments for people. The main topics of these seminars are: Building with Daylighting, Designing with Artificial Light, LED Technology, Light and Health, Light and Surfaces.

UNIVERSITY COURSES
The Bartenbach academy is closely linked to universities through the offering of numerous courses. Knowledge of lighting is incorporated into courses of study such as architecture and design.

UNIVERSITY SYMPOSIUM
Students can gain insights into the World of Light at Bartenbach academy's University Symposium or in courses at various universities.

LIGHT ON! Theme day for architects
Groups of architects can spend a day getting inspired at the Bartenbach academy's World of Light. Individual programmes are available.

Workshops


In a workshop in the Artificial Sky, light can be SEEN, MEASURED and EXPLORED.

Studies of materials directly show the interaction of light and surface.
Daylighting as a design parameter creates a comfortable atmosphere and spatial quality. Experimental model studies allow for the optimisation of the design process using simple methods.

Whether as part of a Light on! day or upon request, we offer architectural firms the opportunity to make use of the unique Artificial Sky. Daylight can thus be incorporated into the design process, the creation of different daylight atmospheres can be modelled and tested, and measurements of natural light availability can be made.

In the Artificial Sky models can be shown and examined under all conceivable daylight situations. The natural conditions of the sky can be perfectly simulated in terms of brightness, light distribution, colour temperature and sunlight.

Artificial Sky:

  • Our artificial sky offers properties that are unique worldwide:#Controllable luminance distribution
  • Controllable colour temperatures
  • A moveable artificial sun
  • Vault diameter of approx. 6 meters
  • Test realistic light simulation of different sky conditions (sunny, cloudy, etc.) for any time of the day and any worldwide location
  • Carry out shading and radiation studies
  • Light measurements (e.g. daylight factor)
  • Facade studies (light control, sun protection, glare protection)
  • Interior appearance, daylight atmosphere

Experiments & Studies


The Bartenbach academy sees itself as a platform for experiments that are separate from everyday project work. In teaching, the first step is to focus on “building with daylight”. Project work by students at the Bartenbach academy illustrates the design potential of light and visualises various daylight atmospheres.

Goals:

  • Understanding the different effects of light and using them in the interest of human beings
  • To gain up-to-date knowledge of lighting (LEDs, light & health, the use of daylight, facade design)
  • To be inspired by the potential of designing with light
  • To use daylight as a design parameter and explore its use in the Artificial Sky
  • To learn about the effects light has on people (visual, emotional, biological)
  • To create atmospheric light and understand the interaction between light and materials

Experimente & Studien

History


2003
Founding of the Bartenbach academy by Professor Christian Bartenbach:

“After decades of tirelessly pursuing and investigating the phenomenon of light and lighting design, of intense reflection and passionate work as a lecturer and guest professor, founding the academy and thus laying the foundation for a comprehensive university-level education surrounding all aspects of light was far more than just a mere wish.”

Introduction of the university programme of study to become a lighting designer, for an MAS (Master of Advanced Studies) degree, which later became the MLL (Master of Light and Lighting) in cooperation with the University of Innsbruck, conducting of the university programme for more than ten years. Establishment of lighting design as a profession with qualified training.

Founding members:
Christian Bartenbach, Christian Berger, Volker Giencke, Dieter Lorenz

2004
The University Symposium is launched: A free, inter-university course aimed at students of numerous architecture and design faculties.

2007
Introduction of the part-time, one-year lighting programme.

2014
Christian Bartenbach takes over the Bartenbach academy from his father. The focus is on tailor-made, part-time light seminars and a unique light exhibition: the World of Light.

2015
The opening of the World of Light: Christian Bartenbach expands the Bartenbach academy with the World of  Light – a light exhibition with lighting models and full-scale lighted spaces. Knowledge of lighting is put into practice!

Reading Material


Christian Bartenbach: Ein Meister des Lichts
Biography (in German)
Editor: Christa Klingler; Publisher: Müry Salzmann
ISBN: 978-3990141137

Licht. Sehen. Gestalten.
Lichttechnische und wahrnehmungspsychologische Grundlagen
für Architekten und Lichtdesigner

Author: Walter Witting; Publisher: Birkhauser
ISBN: 978-3990436585


Bauen mit Tageslicht: Bauen mit Kunstlicht
Authors: Christian Bartenbach, Reinhart Morscher, Hans Spindler,
Editor: Roland Gfeller Corthesy; Publisher: Vieweg+Teubner Verlag
ISBN: 978-3528081041

Handbuch für Lichtgestaltung
Lichttechnische und wahrnehmungspsychologische Grundlagen
Authors: Christian Bartenbach, Walter Witting; Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 978-3211757796

Über uns


Unser Lichtenthusiasmus zeigt sich täglich in unseren Projekten und in der Einzigartigkeit unseres Unternehmens mit Lichtplanung, Produktentwicklung, Forschungsabteilung und eigener Akademie – die Bartenbach academy.

Wir lieben es, mit Licht zu arbeiten und unsere Leidenschaft für Licht mit Menschen zu teilen. Das umfassende Lichtwissen geben wir weiter. Den eigenen Erfahrungsschatz nutzen wir, um das Bewusstsein für Licht und seine Wirkungsweise in der Gesellschaft zu fördern - dieser Gedanke stand am Beginn der Bartenbach academy.

2003 haben wir mit der Etablierung des "Master of Light and Lighting" ein Lichtstudium ins Leben gerufen und den Grundstein für eine umfassende Lichtausbildung gelegt.

Seit 2014 legen wir den Fokus auf maßgeschneiderte Lichtseminare für Partner und Kunden. Im einzigartigen Lernumfeld der Lichtwelt bieten wir individuelle Veranstaltungen wie Grundlagen- und Vertiefungsseminare zum Thema Licht, Tageslicht-Workshops im Künstlichen Himmel, Lichtweltrundgänge und Raum für Experimente.
 

Wir adressieren uns auch an den lichtinteressierten Nachwuchs:

Jährlich veranstalten wir ein Uni-Symposium. Studierende bekommen bei dieser 2‑tägigen Veranstaltung kostenlos Einblick in die Welt des Lichts. Im Rahmen von Lehrbeauftragungen setzen wir uns auch für das „Bauen mit Tageslicht“ ein.

Philosophie


"Licht ist das Medium des Sehens und der Seele. Es wirkt auf Lebensrhythmus, Stimmung und Leistungsfähigkeit des Menschen. Richtiges Licht am Arbeitsplatz aktiviert. Dunkelheit in öffentlichen Räumen erzeugt Unwohlsein, Licht ein sicheres Gefühl. Im Spiel von Licht und Schatten wird Architektur und Design in allen Dimensionen erlebbar. Licht akzentuiert und weist Wege. Seit über 40 Jahren beschäftige ich mich mit dem faszinierenden Phänomen Licht. Der Umgang damit braucht Professionalität und Passion. Grundlagen der Physik und Technik, wahrnehmungspsychologische Kenntnisse sowie die Liebe und Fähigkeit zur Gestaltung. All das vereint sich im Berufsfeld des Lichtgestalters.“

Prof. Dr. h.c. Ing. Christian Bartenbach
 

Mit Licht Lebensräume nutzbar machen. Menschen ermöglichen, vital und ausgeglichen Arbeit und Freizeit nachzugehen. Mit Licht die Schönheit von Exponaten, Gebäuden und Plätzen hervorheben.

Mit Beleuchtung für Orientierung und Schutz sorgen. Schattenplätze mit Sonnenlicht fluten und gleichzeitig ökonomisch klimatisieren. Im Mittelpunkt jeder Lichtgestaltung steht der Mensch mit seinen individuellen Bedürfnissen. Ziel der Lehre der Bartenbach academy ist es, die unterschiedlichen Wirkungsweisen des Lichts zu verstehen, um Tages- und Kunstlicht im Sinne des Menschen einzusetzen.

Die wahrnehmungsorientierte Lichtplanung wurde von Prof. Dr. h.c. Ing. Christian Bartenbach etabliert und diese wird an der Bartenbach academy gelehrt.

Licht-Lehre


Im Rahmen unserer Lehrformate bietet sich die Möglichkeit, die Themen des Lichts kennenzulernen.

Dies sind unsere derzeitigen Lehrformate:

LICHT-SEMINARE für Architekten
Individuell konzipierte Lichtseminare an der Bartenbach academy vermitteln sowohl die technisch-physikalische Grundlagen als auch gestalterische und wahrnehmungspsychologische Aspekte. Ziel ist, ein vertieftes Verständnis für die Gestaltung von Licht- und Raummilieus für den Menschen zu schaffen. Die Schwerpunktthemen der Lichtseminare sind: Bauen mit Tageslicht, Gestalten mit Kunstlicht, LED-Technologie, Licht und Gesundheit, Licht und Oberflächen.

UNIVERSITÄRE LEHRE
Durch zahlreiche Lehrbeauftragungen ist die Bartenbach academy eng mit Universitäten verbunden. Lichtwissen wird in Studiengänge wie Architektur und Design eingebracht.

UNI-SYMPOSIUM
Studierende bekommen beim Uni-Symposium an der Bartenbach academy oder bei Lehraufträgen an verschiedenen Universitäten Einblick in die Welt des Lichts.

FOKUS-TAG LICHT für Architekten
Architektengruppen können einen Tag der Lichtinspiration in der Lichtwelt der Bartenbach academy verbringen. Das Programm stellen wir individuell zusammen.

Workshops


In einem Workshop im Künstlichen Himmel kann man Licht SEHEN, MESSEN, ERGRÜNDEN.

Materialstudien zeigen ganz unmittelbar das Zusammenwirken von Licht und Oberfläche. 
Tageslicht als Entwurfsparameter schafft Atmosphäre und Aufenthaltsqualität; experimentelle Modellstudien erlauben mit einfachen Mitteln eine Optimierung des Entwurfsprozesses zu erzielen. 

Ob im Rahmen eines Fokustag Licht oder auf Anfrage: Wir bieten Architekturbüros die Möglichkeit, den einmaligen Künstlichen Himmel zu nutzen. Somit kann Tageslicht in den Entwurfsprozess einfließen, sowohl Tageslichtatmosphären im Modell erlebt werden als auch Messungen zur Tageslichtverfügbarkeit durchgeführt werden.

Im Künstlichen Himmel können die Modelle unter allen erdenklichen Tageslichtsituationen gezeigt und untersucht werden. Die natürlichen Himmelszustände werden hinsichtlich Helligkeit, Lichtverteilung, Farbtemperatur und Sonnensituation perfekt simuliert.

Künstlicher Himmel:

Unser Künstlicher Himmel bietet Eigenschaften, die weltweit einzigartig sind:

  • Steuerbare Leuchtdichteverteilung
  • Steuerbare Farbtemperaturen
  • Räumlich verfahrbare künstliche Sonne
  • Gewölbedurchmesser von ca. 6 Metern
  • Realitätsnahe Lichtsimulation verschiedener Himmelszustände (sonnig, bewölkt etc.) für jeden Zeitpunkt und Ort der Welt testen
  • Verschattungs- und Besonnungsstudien durchführen
  • Lichtmessungen (z. B. Tageslichtquotient)
  • Fassadenstudien (Lichtlenkung, Sonnenschutz, Blendschutz)
  • Innenraum-Erscheinungsbild, Tageslichtamtosphäre

Experimente & Studien


Die Bartenbach academy versteht sich als Plattform für Experimente abseits des Projektalltags. In der Lehre steht im ersten Schritt das "Bauen mit Tageslicht" im Vordergrund. Projektarbeiten der Studenten der Bartenbach academy veranschaulichen das Gestaltungspotential von Licht und visualisieren Tageslichtatmosphären.

Ziele:

  • Die unterschiedlichen Wirkungsweisen des Lichts verstehen und im Sinne des Menschen einsetzen
  • Über aktuelles Lichtwissen (LED, Licht & Gesundheit, Tageslichtnutzung, Fassadengestaltung) verfügen
  • Vom Gestaltungspotenzial des Lichts inspiriert werden
  • Tageslicht als Entwurfsparameter einsetzen und im Künstlichen Himmel ergründen
  • Die Wirkungsweisen des Lichts auf den Menschen (visuell, emotional, biologisch) kennenlernen
  • Atmosphärisches Licht kreieren und das Zusammenwirken von Licht und Material begreifen

 

 

Experimente & Studien

Historie


2003
Gründung der Lichtakademie Bartenbach durch Prof. Dr. h.c. Ing. Christian Bartenbach:

„Nach Jahrzehnten unermüdlicher Beschäftigung und Auseinandersetzung mit dem Phänomen Licht und Lichtgestaltung, nach all den Jahren intensiver Reflexion und passionierter Bewusstseinsarbeit als Vortragender und Gastprofessor an renommierten Hochschulen war es mir mehr als nur ein Anliegen, mit der Lichtakademie Bartenbach und dem Universitätslehrgang Lichtgestaltung einen Grundstein für eine umfassende Licht-Ausbildung zu legen.“

Start des Universitätslehrganges zum Lichtgestalter, Abschluss „MAS“ (Master of Advanced Studies), später „MLL“ (Master of Light and Lighting) in Kooperation mit der Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck, Durchführung des Universitätslehrganges für mehr als 10 Jahre. Etablierung des Lichtplaners als Beruf mit fundierter Ausbildung.

Gründungsmitglieder:
Christian Bartenbach, Christian Berger, Volker Giencke, Dieter Lorenz

2004
Das Uni-Symposium wird ins Leben gerufen: Kostenlose, universitätsübergreifende Lehrveranstaltung, die sich an Studierende zahlreicher Architektur- und Designfakultäten richtet.

2007
Einführung des berufsbegleitenden 1-jährigen Lichtlehrgangs.

2014
Christian Bartenbach übernimmt die Bartenbach academy von seinem Vater. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf maßgeschneiderten berufsbegleitenden Lichtseminaren und einer einzigartigen Lichtausstellung: der Lichtwelt.

2015
Eröffnung der Lichtwelt: Christian Bartenbach erweitert die Bartenbach academy um die Lichtwelt - eine Lichtausstellung mit Lichtmodellen und 1:1 Lichträumen - Lichtwissen wird in die Anwendung gebracht.

Büro Bartenbach

 

Bartenbach wurde 1976 gegründet und ist seither als Herstellerunabhängiges Lichtplanungsbüro in Aldrans in Österreich tätig. Der hochspezialisierte Familienbetrieb hat es zum Weltmarktführer für Lichtplanungen und Lichtlösungen geschafft. Es wurden bis heute mehr als 10.000 Projekte weltweit realisiert. 

Einen Auszug der bedeutendsten Projekte und mehr Informationen zum Unternehmen finden Sie unter anderem in folgenden Link.

 

mehr erfahren

Lichtlektüre


Christian Bartenbach: Ein Meister des Lichts
Biografie
Herausgeber: Christa Klingler, Verlag: Müry Salzmann
ISBN: 978-3990141137

Licht. Sehen. Gestalten.
Lichttechnische und wahrnehmungspsychologische Grundlagen
für Architekten und Lichtdesigner
Autor: Walter Witting, Verlag: Birkhauser
ISBN: 978-3990436585


Bauen mit Tageslicht: Bauen mit Kunstlicht
Autor: Christian Bartenbach, Reinhart Morscher Hans Spindler,
Herausgeber: Roland Gfeller Corthesy
ISBN: 978-3528081041

Handbuch für Lichtgestaltung
Lichttechnische und wahrnehmungspsychologische Grundlagen
Autor: Christian Bartenbach, Walter Witting, Verlag: Springer
ISBN: 978-3211757796 (z.Zt. leider vergriffen)